Nanowrimo Spotlight: Whatever you choose, as long as it’s not obscene


Greetings again, friends and followers. After a great November, I’m resting and recovering, but I have one more spotlight interview to share with you, from Sahar Sabati. Sahar has one blog here, and another for reviews.

Have you participated in Nanowrimo before?
I did NaNoWriMo twice, in 2008 and in 2014.

What are you writing about this year?
I started working on the sequel of my book, Spirit Within Club. It is a coming of age story following seven years in the life of a growing group of friends from the age of 10 to 17 as they figure out what their contributions to the betterment of their school, their families, their neighborhoods, and the world can be.

What is your favorite book – you have to pick just one!
This is always a difficult question to answer! At the moment I would say that Shoghi Effendi’s God Passes By is my favourite book.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
I would suggest to jump into it and make the most of an experience that is bound to make you a better member of the writing community.

Sneaky Ninja question! How will you know when you’ve reached success as a writer?
I write as a way to inspire personal and community development. I have reached success in that many of those who have read my books have reached out to me to tell me how my book has had a positive influence in their lives.

SWC - 450 by 450

My ramble:
The Spirit Within Club series means a lot to me. It is, in a way, a reflection of the work that I have been doing with young people around the same age. It makes me sound quite old, but I promise, it’s just that I started working really young myself and have been working quite intensely in the last ten years! The book is currently being used in Brazil as part of a spiritual empowerment programme, and time and time again I receive emails or Facebook messages from either parents of young readers or young readers themselves about how the book made them feel like they were not the only ones in a sea of disinterested preteens who wanted to contribute to the betterment of humanity. Adult readers have also reached out to me to tell me how my book has changed their perspective of that age group and how their interactions have subsequently changed. I’m currently working on the second book in the series, and hope that both it and its predecessors will continue contributing to the empowerment of preteens around the world.

Leave a Reply

