Nanowrimo Spotlight: Jana’s Geeky Nano


Hey, happy first of November, friends and followers! Today, I’ve got a special spotlight interview; a repeat offender! I first interviewed Jana back in 2011, and she’s got more to say since then! You can find Jana on the Nano site, on Livejournal, Twitter and Facebook. Here’s Jana talking about her Nano history:


I’ve been doing nano for a decade now. I’ve managed to ‘win’ every time though most of those stories have unfortunately languished ever since. To be fair, I’ve cleaned up and sold two of them. Two others I’ve finished but haven’t found a home for yet. I think my favorite nanos were the first two years where everything was still new and I was in a bad place in my life. Getting out into the forums really helped me. I was excited about visiting them. And after I moved Nano helped by way of the local nano group. The core group meets year round now and we’re good friends.

What are you writing about this year?
I’m writing a SF about a young man, Kaleo, born in a prison slum who was promised citizenship and freedom in exchange for five years service to the company. Instead he was drugged, his body altered for high sexual performance and sold as a Toy to the wealthy friends of a genetist named Aneurin. They are unaware that the Toys are not willing sex trade workers. Aneurin is beyond upset at such a gift and even more so as Kaleo slowly opens up and he realizes the truth about the Toy industry. It is a fight for justice with a romantic subplot.

What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
Star Wars : A New Hope

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Don’t give up. It’s okay to ask for help when you get stuck and turn off the internet for a while. You’ll be amazed how much time you waste playing around on it.

Sneaky Ninja question! How much schooling have you gone through?
Too much.  I have two graduate degrees and four separate degrees in science (well okay two of those are the aforementioned graduate degrees).
SoldiersoftheSun_FBprofile_small
I am the Queen of the Geeks  and my home and office are shrines to any number of comic book and manga heroes along with SF shows and movies too numerous to count. There is no coincidence the love of all things geeky has made its way into many of my stories. To this day, I’m still disappointed she hasn’t found a wardrobe to another realm, a superhero to take me flying among the clouds or a roguish star ship captain to run off to the stars with me. And to that end all of my current publications are in the SF/Fantasy realm including both of my novels. Kept Tears is an urban fantasy set in Pittsburgh PA of the here and now centering on Aaron, a disabled veteran who falls for a fae prince. My Soldiers of the Sun series is also urban fantasy and set in Pittsburgh as well but set in the 1930s. All my publications can be found at Amazon, Dreamspinner Press and Wayward Ink Press. Thanks for having me over on your blog.

Thanks for coming back, Jana!

Leave a Reply

