Nanowrimo Spotlight: Rebecca Hegyesi


Greetings, friends, followers, and wrimos! Two Rebeccas in a row for the spotlight, it looks like! Here’s Rebecca H’s Nano profile, facebook profile, and twitter tweets. And because I like to stick with the usual pattern, here’s her history of Nano in her own words:


My experience with NaNoWriMo this year has been a little nerve wracking if I’m being honest. My writing style has always been to sit, turn on some music, and the words just flow. However, I’ve never written a 50k or more novel and am trying to prepare. The prep along with putting myself out there and announcing to friends and family I will be completing a book in a month has been scary yet exciting! I first heard about NaNoWriMo about 6 years ago and wanted to join in but never made the time. This year is my year!

What are you writing about this year?
When Liliana Moreau’s little brother was reported missing off a fishing boat near the Phoenix Islands, she embarks on a journey to find closure. Instead she finds herself immersed in a world full of legends.

What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
I would have to say my favorite movie is Sweeney Todd. It’s a little gross I admit but beautifully done.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Write down your reason “why” you want to do this and share it with others who will remind you when you feel like you’ve hit a wall. Your why should make you cry. It’s that thing deep down that drives us to succeed. Put yourself out there and quiet the voice that says you can’t!

Sneaky Ninja question! Who’s the best character you’ve ever written and why?
The best character I’ve ever written has been myself. It’s been through writing that I’ve discovered the most important qualities about myself and learned how to share them. It’s also been the hardest character I’ve ever written.

Island of Ash and Light

I would say I’m a hopeless romantic but I have always just viewed the world differently than most. I remember being in the first grade and failing a spelling test when my teacher asked me if I was just stupid or did I not care to study. I spelled “tv” incorrectly and I had studied. I will never forget that day because it began my love of words (even if I do rely on spell check from time to time). The paper became the canvas on which I could show others the world I live in and my outlet for all the things in my head that keep me distracted. It’s the little details in life that most miss that make life so beautiful to me.

As a mother of six children I feel it’s important to show them that you can do anything you put your mind to. Three of them will be participating in the NaNoWriMo Young Writer’s Program this year so I have even more incentive to push past the walls and complete my novel!

Thanks!

Leave a Reply

