Nanowrimo Spotlight: Virginia McClain (Guenhwyvar) Author of Blade’s Edge


Greetings again, Friends and followers. There are so many spotlight interviews coming in, I’m really excited! Tonight we get to know Virginia! You can find more from her at her website…


This is my 9th NaNoWriMo! My first was in 2007. Most years I’m a NaNo rebel and this year is no exception. I’m working on a manuscript that I already started in September. As I tend to need more than 50k to get through a whole novel, this seems to work well for me. That said, I only ever count the words I write between November 1st and November 30th towards NaNo. Favorite memories? That’s a tough one. In 2008 I sent every chapter I wrote to my then boyfriend (now husband) to read, as I wrote it. That was probably the worst book I’ve ever written, but it was a story where the main characters were based on us, and it was fun to share the experience with him.

What are you writing about this year?
A sequel to the novel I published in January of this year. Here’s the blurb I have posted to my NaNo profile: Amid the chaos left by the overthrow of the corrupt Roju council Mishi and Taka are charged with finding a way to keep the peace, but the part Mishi played in the rebellion now haunts her dreams and is pushing her further and further from reality. Mishi finds herself trapped in a nightmare of her own making and the only way out will require trusting a person she can no longer abide the sight of. But is that person the man who once stole her kiss, a friend she’s terrified of harming, the spy who hides among them, or herself?

What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
I cannot answer this question. You cannot make me pick just one. I refuse. (;-P)

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Bind and gag your inner editor and then just keep typing. One. Word. At. A. Time.

Sneaky Ninja question! Do you believe in true love?
I think that depends on what you mean by true love. There are many different kinds of love, and ways to fall in love. I think it is possible for people to form a bond that lasts a lifetime, but I think we’ve idealized a romantic fantasy that is rare and unlikely, and far too many people berate themselves for failing to find a fairytale love story rather than embracing the meaningful relationships they have in their lives.

Blade’s Edge was released in January of this year.

Blurb:
bladesedgeThe Kisōshi, elite warriors with elemental powers, have served as the rulers and protectors of the people of Gensokai for more than a thousand years. Though it is believed throughout Gensokai that there is no such thing as a female Kisōshi, the Rōjū ruling council goes to great lengths to ensure that no one dares ask why.

Even as young girls, Mishi and Taka know that they risk severe punishment – or worse – if anyone were to discover their powers. This shared secret forms a deep bond between them until, taken from their orphanage home and separated, the two girls must learn to survive in a world where their very existence is a crime. Yet when the girls learn the dark secret of the Rōjū council, they discover that much more than their own survival is at stake.

Thanks for sharing with us, Virginia!

Leave a Reply

