Nanowrimo Spotlight: Stefanie Waring


Good evening, and welcome to tonight’s spotlight interview. Tonight, I feature Stefanie, who goes as cuno on Nanowrimo. She also has a NSFW, nattery Tumblr; a website, and a Smashwords profile. Here’s Stef’s impressive Nano history!


I’ve been doing NaNo since 2002, when I was a bored 16-year-old finishing up her last year of high school.  I’ve participated and won every year, growing from cheating like a madwoman to hit 50K to actually finishing novels to challenging myself to hit higher numbers (100K) or write the 50K in as little time as possible (14 days is my current NaNo record; 6 days is my current non-NaNo record).  While I haven’t finished every novel I’ve started, I have completed at least 4 that I can remember off the top of my head.  My favourite memories are the thrill of winning (especially if the novel itself is completed) and also the NaNoisms thread, which is always hilarious.  I even got one of the Top Ten in the 2005 NaNoisms book.  I also think NaNo has made me a much better writer, because it’s made me capable of writing very good first drafts.  Plus I’ve used it in job interviews, which generally impresses people.

What are you writing about this year?
A road trip novel!  It’s an urban fantasy about a singer, Riyadh Aswari, who sold his soul to the devil at the age of 16, so that he could get out of his tiny Alberta town and actually use his musical talent to become rich and famous.  He was given ten years to enjoy this, but as he approaches the end of the contract and his 26th birthday, he realizes that 26 is barely any time at all.  Cutting off all contact with everyone currently in his life (mostly his management team and backing band), he makes an arrangement with a mysterious stranger to drive across Canada to Manitoulin Island in the hopes he can avoid his fate, only to learn that a man in danger of losing his soul should be careful who he trusts.

What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
Can a miniseries count?  If so, Generation Kill.  If we’re talking strictly movies…  Gonna go with the first Jurassic Park.  I love dinosaurs.
Bigvdayvelo

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Look, writing is hard.  Anyone who tells you that it’s a cakewalk is either lying or trying to sell you something.  Accepting that writing is hard, and that some days you will write like one of the monkeys that doesn’t create Shakespeare, is the first step to becoming a good writer.  Move on, move past it, and keep going.  Even if that means that, like me, you have to write some really explicit smut as a side scene just to get some words flowing.

Also, don’t write for anyone else; write for yourself.  Your love and enjoyment will show through, and on the flip side, if you’re writing something because society or your friends or publishers or whatever tell you to, readers are going to notice that too.

Sneaky Ninja question! What is your favorite color?
Black.  Like my soul.

I’m planning on publishing an urban fantasy novel (my first) in April or May of 2016.  It’s called Splinters and there are three books that will all be published at once, both separately and as one omnibus edition, on both Smashwords and Amazon.  Splinters is an urban fantasy set in a world similar to our own, where Fae and humans live together in total disharmony.  Told from the POV of Solan Yorke, a halfbreed Fae just trying to pretend he’s human at least long enough to get his high school diploma, and Solan’s boyfriend, human Kyrianos Damascus, Splinters is a novel about war, wild Fae, and storm magic, split into three parts.  A complete but unedited rough draft is available on my website, but the published version will be edited, cleaned up, and have more content.

Thanks for stepping into the spotlight, Stef!

Leave a Reply

