Nanowrimo Spotlight: Patricia Loofbourrow, NaNo author


Good evening, and welcome to tonight’s spotlight interview. Tonight, we hear from Patricia, who’s on Nanowrimo as kalima. Take it away, Patricia!


I ran across NaNo somewhere online. It was 2005 and I had always wanted to write a novel. It seemed like a good time. Then my husband came home and told me he was being transferred and had to start work halfway across the country in six weeks. 😮
We had three kids in school, one with some fairly serious health issues, so the next six weeks were a flurry of getting the house on the market, transferring everything, and buying another home while 1700 miles away. We got to our new home October 27th. I spent the first week of NaNo writing on my laptop while sitting on the floor of my empty home because the movers weren’t there yet!
But it was a lot of fun. I think that is the NaNo I will remember the most. I’ve participated several times since then (didn’t always win, but I had fun).

What are you writing about this year?

This year I’m writing book 2 of a series about a female private eye who lives in a domed neo-Victorian city split by four crime families. Book 1, The Jacq of Spades (which I wrote the first draft of last year during NaNo) comes out December 1st.

What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
The Matrix (just the first one)

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Just write. Write everything you can possibly think of about your story: your speculations, all your plot complications, your possible endings, everything. You are not allowed to delete anything until December. Remember, if you delete 100 words a day, that’s 3000 words you could have had. Yes, it’s crap. You’re writing 50,000 words in a month! Of course it won’t be perfect — that’s what editing is about. Every NaNo novel is a first draft, which by definition is highly likely to be a total mess. But you can’t edit what you don’t write. 🙂

Sneaky Ninja question! What time in the day do you write the most?
I write first thing in the morning, before anyone gets up. I work from home so it works well for me.

1510571_1598837577034684_5683505542818075957_n

All of Patty’s links:

One Response to Nanowrimo Spotlight: Patricia Loofbourrow, NaNo author

Leave a Reply

