Nanowrimo Spotlight: Kalynn Campbell, author of ‘She of Thorn’


Good evening! We’re about halfway through November already! This afternoon was our local Mid-way party, (at a 5-pin bowling alley!) and tonight is the Night of Writing Dangerously in San Francisco! Today I have an interview from Kalynn, who you can find on Nano as lowbrowser, and you can also check out her publisher’s blog. Here’s Kalynn’s Nano background in her own words:


Technically, this is my third year doing NaNo. The first year I worked on a rewrite of an existing novel, so maybe I should call that year my “gray area” year.

This year, as well as last year, I started my novel with nothing more than a title, a loose outline and a book cover.

Last year was really exciting – it was my first year writing a novel from scratch in 30 days and I’d written over 64,000 words by NaNo’s finish. I loved the process so much, I had to dive in again this year.

What are you writing about this year?
I’m trying my hand at Horror/Sci Fi with a story called ‘THE FOREVER WATER.’

It’s about five College Kids on Spring Break who run across a small town in Northern Florida where nothing seems to age. The story is a twist on the vampire legend using Ponce de Leon’s ‘Fountain of Youth’ as a springboard.

What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
It’s rough picking just one, but I’ll narrow it down to: ‘WHERE THE WILD THINGS ARE.’ Heartbreaking but powerful.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Let your imagination loose. Keep on open mind when the character wants to veer off to a place you hadn’t planned. Let your characters live lives of their own and before long your fingers will describe a world you never saw coming, and that’s an amazing feeling – to live the story as it’s being conveyed by its characters.

Sneaky Ninja question! What was the first story you wrote, (or can remember writing)?
Wow, that harks back a bit! When I was seventeen I wrote music reviews for a radio station’s giveaway magazine called ‘Street Beat’ (yes, like the movie ‘Almost Famous’). The Rolling Stones came to town and I told my editor that I would get an interview with Mick Jagger (I knew where he was staying), so the editor saved space for the interview, even promoting it on the radio. I failed to get the interview (of course) so I ended up writing a story called, ‘A missed interview with a guy named Mick,’ complete with a made-up cast of characters. The radio station ran the story anyway, it was my first foray into fiction!

Forever-Cover-final4
I’m an Artist/illustrator by profession (mostly in the music industry) and a writer by desire. I published a book of poetry earlier this year called ’She of Thorn: Poems and Rhyme of a Heat Unkind.’ The book was written at the end of a volatile love affair with a married woman, the poems telling the story of a love-in-vain relationship. The book ranked #17 on Amazon’s ‘100 Best Sellers: Love poems’ list and has gathered amazing reviews including: “This compilation of poems holds a deeper story than a normal 300-page novel…” Reviews and a link to the book can be found on the publisher’s blog:
http://tornapartbooks.blogspot.com

I’m currently working on a follow-up to ‘She of Thorn’ called ‘Last Rites’ due out on Amazon on New Years day.

I’ve written two novels, the first of which, ‘In The Time of The Fly,’ will be ready for publication in a few months. My NaNo novel page is: http://nanowrimo.org/participants/lowbrowser/novels

Thank you for reading the interview and I look forward to seeing you all on NaNo next year.
Thank you, Kalynn, and best of luck with writing this November!

Leave a Reply

