Nanowrimo Spotlight: Emma Lehrer- lehrerscooter8


And hello again! I hope you’ll really like today’s spotlight interview. I’d like you to meet Emma, who can be found on Nanowrimo as lehrerscooter8, and has a non-writing blog. Hi, Emma! How long have you been doing Nanowrimo?


I am a newbie to NaNo this year and it has been really exciting so far! I learned about it a couple days before it started when I was looking for writing forums. I saw the website and decided I absolutely had to do it, mostly because I have never finished a book before and the time frame will motivate me. I also had an idea for a book and said “why not” to myself then signed up.

What are you writing about this year?

This year I am writing about a girl named Ailey. Her family relocated from Florida to Northern Canada four years ago. Almost a year ago her mom left them without a word to run away with a different man. When the story starts, Ailey is battling depression. Then her best friend starts hanging out with her biggest middle school rival and she feels abandoned all over again. She fights to find a way to keep moving on, making new friends and discovering new things about herself along the way.

What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
Ahhh! I love so many movies!! I literally have a new favorite movie every week. This week it is “Love, Rosie” because the story is so moving and adorable and sad and funny all at the same time.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
If I had to give advice, I would probably say that there are no rules in writing. Sad-Girl-in-Winter-Flying-Snow-Around-the-Beautiful-Girl-Are-You-Cold-No writing style is “wrong” and no idea- no matter how crazy it is- is bad. Just write whatever wants to come out!

Sneaky Ninja question! What one thing are you most thankful for?
I have no idea what I am most thankful for. Maybe it is the fact that I am able to express myself through writing, or that I have found my reason to keep moving on. In truth, I am thankful for so many things I don’t know where to start. I guess that life is just full of things to be thankful for.

 

Leave a Reply

