Nanowrimo Spotlight: Jenny Prater


Good evening everybody, and how’s November treating you this Friday evening? (Or whenever it is in your part of the world when you read this?) I’m hanging out in a virtual write-in and posting this interview instead of writing new words, but I’ve just reached 40k and I’ll do more before bedtime, I promise!

So, tonight’s interview is with Jenny, who can be found on Nano as kolingdorm, or at her blog! How much Nano experience do you have, Jenny?


This is my seventh year of NaNoWriMo. I’ve been doing it since I was sixteen, a couple years after I heard about it from an English teacher. I thought it would motivate me to write more and faster, and so far it has. This year I’m actually participating with two accounts, so if I fail here, I probably succeeded somewhere else. Hopefully. My favorite NaNo memory is from my senior year of high school, when in spite of SATs, driving exams, midterms, and the death of my dog, I managed to write 100,000 words, the first draft of the first novel I’m really proud of.

What are you writing about this year?
This year (on this account) I’m trying to finish two half written stories. One is contemporary YA called Fall with Me, about a boy and a girl falling in and out of love and sanity. The other, When the War Ends, is about a princess and an outlaw forced to work together to end a war.

What is your favorite movie – you have to pick just one!
At the moment, I’m going with Megamind.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
Don’t think. Just write. There’s time for spellchecking and fact checking later. Do whatever you need to do to get it done as fast as possible. Sometimes I turn off the monitor so I won’t be distracted by my mistakes. Usually I don’t bother about writing in order – I just get down whatever piece of the story is strongest in my mind. Do whatever you want. Just don’t worry about anything but getting it down.

Sneaky Ninja question! What do you have in your pockets right now?
Absolutely nothing. Maybe lint. I’m boring like that.

Interview Image WTWE
In the past year I’ve published two poetry collections—Goodbye and Other Words I Should Have Said and Avalanche: A Self Portrait in Verse. Within the next few months I hope to release a book of short stories, tentatively titled Ace. I am currently in my last year of studying literature and writing at a university in Minnesota, and recently spent a few months as the media manager for a small publishing company, before leaving to focus on my studies. However, in the next three to five years I hope to start my own small press, and in the meantime am writing as much as I possibly can, especially about folklore and the idea of story as community. My blog, Halfway to Fairyland, is at konglindorm.blogspot.com, and I can be found on just about any social media site as either Jenny Prater or konglindorm, a name taken from the title of my favorite fairy tale, a beautiful disaster of transformation, cannibalism, and Christian allegory.

Good luck with your Nanowrimo writihg, Jenny!

Leave a Reply

