Six Sentence Sunday – Paying the Stump


Hey, everybody! It’s Six sentence sunday time again, and these are the first six sentences of a new contest story I wrote last week for the SDMB Short Fiction Contest, Fall 2011 edition:

I was awake before the sun rose that morning, and had to make a point of distracting myself so that I didn’t go into Trevor and Sarah’s room and wake them up too. After all, today was the last day I wanted to really annoy Trevor. He might change his mind about driving me over to the party. That wasn’t really likely, but getting woken up early did annoy him, and why should I take the chance?

So I actually did my chores – fetching water from the well, and chopping firewood, and weeding in the garden, though there weren’t many weeds and they were all small – but hey, as long as you can find them, that’s the best time, right?

Once I was done out in the garden, the sun was up, and Mom was in the kitchen making coffee and toast.

6 Responses to Six Sentence Sunday – Paying the Stump

  1. Sue says:

    nice to see you here – good luck on the contest

    Like

  2. Mike Offutt says:

    You know…in reading this kind of thing I would think that twitter would be excellent training. When you use twitter, you have to limit yourself to 140 characters or less per tweet. So the format forces a writer to choose words very carefully. Excellent go at getting the six sentences to tell some kind of story (which I assume is the goal).

    Like

  3. Good luck in the contest.

    Like

  4. Hmmm, I found your second line a little confusing… It could read that your MC really wants to annoy Trevor, but has somehow decided that today’s the last day he/she will do so. (though I’m assuming it’s a ‘he’ ’cause of the chopping wood)

    Like

  5. Elaine says:

    Good luck with the contest. The garden sounded well cared for.

    Like

Leave a Reply

