Nanowrimo spotlight: Written Things


Good afternoon, friends and followers. My next spotlight interviewee seems like a ‘Just the Facts’ kinda lady, so let’s get right to finding out the facts about her! She’s Fan T C on Nanowrimo and has a blog at Written Things.

Have you participated in Nanowrimo before?
This is my second year participating in NaNo. I won my first year and still look back wondering how I did it. This year has been more of a struggle. I first found out from an English teacher who participated. I was too intimidated to try it at first, but then, one year, I felt gutsy and ready for a challenge. Some of my favorite memories involved writing buddy emails and people on the forums. We had a lot of laughs together.

What are you writing about this year?
This year, I am writing a fantasy mystery novel, a murder mystery, to be exact. I’m not exactly sure how it’s going. It always baffled me how Sherlock Holmes could do it, so I have no idea how I’m going to unearth these clues.

What is your favorite book – you have to pick just one!
Inkheart is by far my favorite book. It involves a girl whose father can read books to life. This poses complications as he reads the villain out and his wife into the story. But the writing is so beautiful, the characters are so real, and sometimes I whisper the words out loud just in case I have a touch of Silvertongue.

What advice would you give to all your fellow Wrimos?
There comes a point when you feel like giving up. It starts in your brain and ends in your fingers. I’d recommend you not let that happen, because once it’s in your brain, it’s hard to get out. Winning isn’t everything, but you always have to try.

Sneaky Ninja question! Where do you get ideas for characters and how do you develop them?
I’ll admit, some characters are the product of real dreams. I used to dream a lot as a kid. I dreamed of girls who lived with wolves and boys racing through spaceships. A lot of my characters come from imagination. I let them drift through my thoughts until they’re comfortable, then I pry and poke until they spill their life stories.

fantcI’m not a big blogger. I only started one so I could blog through NaNo and then as I was going through the process of publishing my novel, “Clockwork Dreams”. But I find blogging gives me a way to express my thoughts and throw them out into the universe. A blogger once told me it’s not about the views or the comments or the followers that make a blog, it’s whether or not you enjoy it. I enjoy it very much and I don’t pressure myself to post at any given time.

Leave a Reply

