Campaigner Spotlight: Danyelle Leafty


Hello, Campaigners! Today the Campaigner Spotlight is shining on Danyelle Leafty, who is a collector of dragons, talking frogs, and fairy godmothers.

Are you allergic to anything, and if so, what?
Allergies are the bane of my existence right now. I’ve always had really bad allergies to pollen which made playing outside during allergy season a challenge. I grew up in an area with lots of trees which meant a lot of pollen flying through the air at least once a year. One of my friends once collected a garage full of the stuff. It looked like a giant cotton ball had exploded. :S

Once I reached adulthood, my pollen allergies eased back a little–probably because I wasn’t playing outside as much–but I ended up developing some allergies and sensitivities to wheat, soy, and dairy. Allergies make cooking at my house an adventure.
(Although I’ve never been able to prove it, I’m also highly allergic to geometry. Just thinking about it makes my eyes water. :p)
How much schooling have you gone through?
I’m still going through it. 😉 I have an associate degree in general studies, and hope to go through med school in the future. I’ve discovered a love of Scottish Country Dance through a continuing education program. And as a home schooler, every day is an education.

What’s your favorite category of joke?
My favorite jokes would probably be classified as British humor. I love irony, satire, and the unexpected subtleties of the language. I love dry humor. There’s something about someone cracking a joke with a straight face that makes the joke even funnier. When I first started reading Jane Austen and J.R.R. Tolkien, I loved their stories and voices, but it wasn’t until I’d read their novels numerous times that the humor started filtering through. That’s part of what I love so much about their works–no matter how many times I read it, something new always pops out at me. I know that neither, J.R.R. Tolkien in particular, are considered humorists, but I adore the way they use language and viewpoint to capture the humor of the situation.

On my blog, I share my love of writing, reading, and fairy tales. I love meeting new people, so feel free to stop by and say hi! 🙂

3 Responses to Campaigner Spotlight: Danyelle Leafty

  1. Doreen says:

    I also love re-reading Tolkein and have to agree with you about the humor..I had a dog named Hobbit for 14 years:(
    Allergies ugghhh
    Very interesting learning more about you. I look forward to reading more of your writing!

    Like

  2. Allergies…I’m glad I didn’t get that question. I could write a book about it. Sorry about your own experiences, but it sounds like you’ve adapted well. I’m off to check out your blog now.

    Like

  3. Hi Chris! 🙂 Thanks so much for the spotlight. 🙂

    Thanks, Doreen! And I love that your dog was named Hobbit. That’s a perfect dog name. 😀

    Thanks, Barbara! 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment