Weekend Writing Warriors – Gotta have that look (revised) 5


Welcome friends, followers, and Weekend Writing Warriors!

Continuing to share the new revision of “Gotta Have That Look,” about teenagers and genetic injections. I’ve shared some from an early draft with Six Sentence Sunday, but this is mostly a new plot. I’m going to skip over some classroom stuff. Here, Jimmy is talking to his best friend’s new girlfriend.

wewriwa

Snippet 1 Snippet 2 Snippet 3 Snippet 4

Jimmy turned to Stephanie. “I wanted to ask you a favour–It’s about Diane.”

“Okay I guess.”

“Well, Diane is my picture of the perfect girl, but I have no idea who her perfect guy would look like. And I can’t ask her, and then turn into what she says…”

“But it’s okay if I ask her, because I’m a girl, even though we’re not really friends?”

“Well, I don’t know her friends well enough to ask them.”

“I’ll see what I can do.”

Visit the other Weekend Writing Warriors at http://www.wewriwa.com/.

9 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors – Gotta have that look (revised) 5

  1. maggiewells68 says:

    Oooh. I’m intrigued. Great 8!

    Like

  2. Ha! He’s sending in a spy! You are right, teenagers do work that way with the “find out for me” approach. Nice 8.
    History Sleuth’s Milk Carton Murders

    Like

  3. Millie Burns says:

    Aw, poor kid has it bad. Too bad he doesn’t realize if she doesn’t want him as he is, she doesn’t deserve him. All teens have to work through that one…genetic mutations or not.

    Like

  4. But then will he trust what his “spy” tells him? And how successfully can he really change? Enjoying the story, these characters certainly read like teenagers I know!

    Like

  5. You’ve captured the teenage mind really well. Nice 8.

    Like

  6. So looks are everything?

    Like

  7. caitlinstern says:

    Does he even know if he likes Diane as a person? Or if she’ll like him for more than his looks? Just like a teenager to not think that through…

    Like

  8. Gemma Parkes says:

    Isn’t it great being a teenager? love this exchange!

    Like

  9. Beth Rhodes says:

    Interesting how Jimmy assumes his looks are all it will take. I wonder if this will be the case? Nice 8!

    Like

Leave a comment